Sons of Ivy
Second Base - Printable Version

+- Sons of Ivy (https://sonsofivy.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Chicago Cubs (https://sonsofivy.com/forum/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: The Friendly Confines (https://sonsofivy.com/forum/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Second Base (/thread-5808.html)

Pages: 1 2

Second Base - DaveB - 01-26-2010

Im very pleased with Hendry going out and signing Nady as our 4th outfielder, he was definitely the best option among Dye, Ghomes, and the rest of those guys. Nady is a guy who is 1 season removed from hitting 25 HR/97 RBI.
But now that we have our 4th outfielder (who will probably end up being a starter sometime during the season due to injury/sucktitude of our other outfielders), what is Hendry's next priority? Does this mean that Hendry will finally go out and fill the other major hole in our lineup: second base?

Im a big Jeff Baker supporter, I feel he proved his worth to the team last season. But has he proven that he can be an everyday starter for us? Atleast it appears as if the Cubs don't believe so, because everything we hear has them considering platooning Baker with *shudder* Mike Fontenote.

I loved Fonte in the '08 season, but he proved last year he doesn't have what it takes to be an everyday starter. And if the Cubs don't believe that Baker can be their everyday starter as well, is it not time that we go out and sign a legitimate 2B?

I feel like Orlando Hudson could be a good fit for us. I also see Orlando Cabrera as a good fit as well. He's a SS, but if we signed him couldn't we just move Riot to 2B? (Isn't that what the Cubs are planning anyway with Sterling Castro coming up in the next couple seasons?)

What do you all think? Is Hendry going to go after a legitimate option at 2B now, or is he going to count on the Baker/Fonte platoon?

Second Base - BT - 01-26-2010

No. We don't have to money to sign Cabrera or Hudson. At least not at the prices they are asking right now.

Second Base - jstraw - 01-26-2010